CGUs

Services have terms that can change over time. CGUs enables users rights advocates, regulatory bodies and any interested citizen to follow the changes to these terms.

Follow the changes to the Terms of Service

Services are declared within CGUs with a declaration file listing all the documents that, together, constitute the terms under which this service can be used. These documents all have a type, such as “terms and conditions”, “privacy policy”, “developer agreement”.

The practices described regarding information manipulation can lead to a better understanding of the vulnerabilities of these actors and the transcription of legislative constraints, recommendations from public authorities or voluntary measures implemented enables us to appreciate their loyalty.

Case studies

  • Google has changed its Review Guidelines to prohibit apps that hat mislead users by impersonating someone else or another app or falsely imply a relationship to another company / developer. These measures thus close certain vulnerabilities exploited for information manipulation. See the change.

  • TikTok refers to Comminuty Guidelines to offer its users the opportunity to report content that would be considered inappropriate. See the change.

  • Google AdSense has changed its Acceptable Use Policy to add a reference to Coordinated Deceptive Practices to prohibit (i) practices that seek to coordinate with other sites or accounts and concealing or misrepresenting identity or other material details, when content relates to politics, social issues or matters of public concern and (ii) directe content about politics, social issues, or matters of public concern to users in a country other than one’s own, if you misrepresent or conceal one’s country of origin or other material details. See the change.

Discover more case studies

How it works

Words in bold are business domain names.

Services are declared within CGUs with a declaration file listing all the documents that, together, constitute the terms under which this service can be used. These documents all have a type, such as “terms and conditions”, “privacy policy”, “developer agreement”…

In order to track their changes, documents are periodically obtained by fetching a web location and selecting content within the web page to remove the noise (ads, navigation menu, login fields…).

Anyone can run their own private instance and track changes on their own. However, we also publish each version on a public instance that makes it easy to explore the entire history and enables notifying over email whenever a new version is recorded. Users can subscribe to notifications.

For now, when multiple versions coexist, terms are only tracked in their English version and for the European jurisdiction.

Exploring the versions history

From the repository homepage CGUs-versions, open the folder of the service of your choice. You will see the set of documents tracked for that service, now click on the document of your choice. The latest version (updated hourly) will be displayed.

For more details, see our wiki.

Be notified

You can subscribe to receive an email whenever a document is updated in the database.

Beware, this service is in beta and you are likely to receive a large amount of notifications! You can unsubscribe by replying to any email you will receive.

For more details, see our wiki.

Experiments

Experiments are ongoing so as to produce use cases using CGUs data.

See ours experiments

API

An API endpoint to find specific terms in the CGUs dataset is available.

Access the API

Contributing

The tool is built as an open source and collaborative software, which means that everyone can contribute to its improvement and to the addition of documents and service providers to be tracked.

  • Terms of Service Didn’t Read (ToSDR) The association Terms of Service Didn’t Read (ToSDR) had developed a similar tool, TOSBack and thus transferred its resources and documents followed for several years to our tool.

  • Direction Générale des Entreprises
    The Direction Générale des Entreprises (DGE), through the Digital Regulation Expertise Center (PEReN), contributes to the tool by developing new functionalities, such as tracking images and documents in PDF format.

Help us to improve CGUs!

You can add service providers or documents that you would like to follow or suggest ways to add value to the case studies.

Contribute

CGUs

Suivre les engagements contractuels des principaux fournisseurs de services en ligne

CGUs est un outil libre et ouvert de suivi et d’archivage des évolutions des conditions générales d’utilisation des principaux fournisseurs de services en ligne. Il permet aux défenseurs des droits des utilisateurs, aux régulateurs et à toute personne intéressée de suivre les évolutions de ces conditions.

Pourquoi suivre les conditions générales d’utilisation ?

Tout fournisseur de services en ligne dispose de conditions d’utilisation définies dans un ensemble de documents contractuels qui régissent les modalités d’interaction avec ses utilisateurs, comme les politiques de modération des contenus, la responsabilité de l’éditeur ou encore la juridiction compétente en cas de litige.

En matière de manipulation de l’information, les pratiques décrites permettent de mieux appréhender les vulnérabilités de ces acteurs et la transcription des contraintes législatives, des recommandations des pouvoir publics ou encore des mesures volontaires mises en oeuvre et permettre d’apprécier leur loyauté.

Études de cas

  • Google a modifié les conditions de validation des applications mobiles afin d’interdire les apps qui laissent supposer à tort être une application officielle et ne mentionnent pas l’existence d’une relation avec une autre entité. Cette nouvelle version des conditions interdit également les apps de développeurs qui témoignent à tort d’un lien avec une autre société ou un autre développeur. Ces mesures ferment ainsi certaines vulnérabilités exploitées pour la manipulation de l’information. Voir le changement.

  • TikTok se réfère aux standards de sa communauté pour offrir à ses utilisateurs l’opportunité de signaler un contenu qui serait estimé inapproprié et irait à leur rencontre. Voir le changement.

  • Google AdSense a modifié sa politique d’utilisation afin d’y inclure une mention relative aux pratiques trompeuses coordonnées. Celle-ci prohibe les pratiques visant à se coordonner avec d’autres sites ou comptes en dissimulant ou déformant des informations relatives à son identité lorsque le contenu est lié à des enjeux politiques, sociaux ou d’intérêt public et le fait de cibler un contenu lié à des enjeux politiques, sociaux ou d’intérêt public auprès d’utilisateurs émanant d’un pays qui n’est pas le sien, tout en altérant ou en dissimulant des informations relatives à son pays d’origine. Voir le changement.

Découvrir d’autres études de cas

Comment utiliser l’outil CGUs ?

Les mots en gras sont les termes du domaine.

Les services sont déclarés dans l’outil CGUs grâce à un fichier de déclaration listant les documents qui forment l’ensemble des conditions régissant l’usage du service. Ces documents peuvent être de plusieurs types : « conditions d’utilisation », « politique de confidentialité », « contrat de développeur »…

Afin de suivre leurs évolutions, les documents sont régulièrement mis à jour, en les téléchargeant depuis une adresse web et en sélectionnant leur contenu dans la page web pour supprimer le bruit (publicités, menus de navigation, champs de connexion…).

Vous pouvez disposer de votre propre instance privée de l’outil CGUs et suivre vous-même les évolutions. Néanmoins, nous publions chaque version sur une instance publique facilitant l’exploration de l’historique et notifiant par courriels l’enregistrement de nouvelles versions.

Actuellement, nous ne suivons que les conditions rédigées en anglais et concernant la juridiction européenne.

À partir de la page d’accueil du dépôt CGUs-versions, ouvrez le dossier du service de votre choix. L’ensemble des documents suivis pour ce service s’affichent, cliquez ensuite sur celui dont vous souhaitez suivre l’historique.

Pour plus de détails consultez notre wiki.

Recevoir des notifications

Vous pouvez vous abonner pour recevoir un courriel à chaque modification d’un document dans l’ensemble de la base.

Pour plus de détails consultez notre wiki.

Attention, ce service est en version bêta et vous risquez de recevoir de nombreuses notifications ! Vous pourrez vous désabonner en répondant à n’importe quel courriel reçu.

Experimentations

Des expérimentations sont en cours afin de produire des premiers cas d’usage à partir des données générées par l’outil CGUs.

Voir nos experimentations

Contribuer

L’outil est construit sous la forme d’un logiciel libre et collaboratif, ce qui signifie que chacun peut contribuer à son amélioration et à l’ajout de documents et de fournisseurs de services à suivre.

  • Terms of Service Didn’t Read (ToSDR) L’association Terms of Service Didn’t Read (ToSDR) avait développé un outil similaire, TOSBack et a ainsi transféré ses moyens et documents suivis depuis plusieurs années vers notre outil.

  • Direction Générale des Entreprises
    La Direction générale des entreprises (DGE), à travers le pôle d’expertise de la régulation du numérique (PEReN), contribue à l’outil en développant de nouvelles fonctionnalités, comme le suivi des images et des documents au format PDF.

Aidez-nous à améliorer CGUs !

Vous pouvez ajouter des fournisseurs de services ou documents que vous souhaiteriez suivre ou suggérer des modalités de valorisation des études de cas.

Contribuer